Information about NCEA 2024

What is NCEA?

The National Certificate of Educational Achievement (NCEA) is the main national qualification for secondary students in New Zealand. It is comprised of three levels:

  • Level 1 (usually done in Year 11)

  • Level 2 (usually done in Year 12)

  • Level 3 (usually done in Year 13)

NCEA is currently undergoing changes and new Level 1 achievement standards will be in use from 2024 onwards. Level 2 and 3 will use the existing standards in 2024 and 2025. New Level 2 achievement standards will be introduced in 2026 and new Level 3 achievement standards in 2027.

Enrolling and getting NCEA

Literacy and numeracy, endorsements and University Entrance

Course and assessment details

Authenticity of student work

Late work / absence from an assessment

Resubmission, reassessment and appeals

Derived grades, digital exams

Maximising your chances of success in NCEA